Missing email - recovery

If you delete a message accidentally from Oxford Nexus, you may be able to retrieve it without requiring an expensive data restore. This page explains what happens to most deleted messages and how to get them back under most circumstances.

Deleted messages
When you delete a message, this is moved to the Deleted Items folder. If you do nothing, the deleted item will remain in that folder for 90 days. After 90 days, it is automatically removed. You can remove your deleted items before the 90 days are reached and it is even possible that your email program (your 'client') may be set to do this for you, for example when an 'Empty Deleted Items on exit' option is activated.
Junk mail/spam
Messages that are classified as junk email/spam are moved to the Junk E-mail mailbox. If you do not remove them, they are automatically deleted after 90 days. You can set the level of junk-mail filtering both on the Nexus account settings page and in your email client, if you use one. Please note that you also need to have spam filtering turned on in Outlook Web Access (see the Outlook Web Access Guide for details.
Restoring deleted messages
Deleted items go to your Deleted Items folder. When they are deleted from there as well (and some people's email programs are set to 'Empty Deleted Items on exit'), they are kept in the Recover Deleted Items store for a further 30 days. You can access your Recover Deleted Items option if you are using Outlook or Outlook Web App.
Important note: If you have deleted entire folders and are trying to recover them from the Deleted Items folder you must ensure that you are in Folder List view (the middle icon in the very bottom left hand corner of Outlook) or they will not be seen in the Deleted Items folder.
Recovering lost files
If you cannot recover your files using the Recover Deleted Items option, it may be possible to get them back using the chargeable Data Recovery Service (access restricted).

Please see the following overview of the restore process.

Restore overview

Searching for lost messages
It may be that these messages are still held within your mailbox but not in the expected location. We would recommend that a complete mailbox search be performed before proceeding with a restore request.
Search Tips
If you are an Outlook user, we recommend using both Outlook (Outlook 2010/2013) and Outlook Web App (OWA) premium (such as Internet Explorer, Firefox etc.) to perform the mailbox search. If you use any other email client, use Outlook Web App to perform the search.
Ensure the Entire Mailbox is selected in the search criteria when searching for a missing mail item.
Use Advanced Search options, such as From, To, Subject as key words
Searching a mailbox using Outlook 2010
Click on the search bar in order to view the Search menu and the options. 
Use All Outlook Items option in order to search the entire mailbox and to find the location of the search item. 
In the above search example, All Outlook Items option is selected. Results show for a search carried out for ‘40700’.
The results are grouped by the location of the items. Note: "In Folder".
 
Searching a mailbox using Outlook Web App (OWA)
Login to OWA https://owa.nexus.ox.ac.uk
Select the Search target folder – the available options are shown below.
Click on the down arrow head to view the options.
Click on the chevrons to access advanced search options.
An ‘asterisk’ at the end of the search word is useful when search is performed based on partial words.
Place the mouse over the designated search results area to locate the folder of the item.   
 
Useful Information
When a mailbox item is deleted, it will either move to the Deleted Items folder or to the Recover Deleted Items folder within the mailbox. The deleted item can be easily moved to a different folder within the mailbox.
If an entire folder with items is deleted, the folder will be moved to the Deleted Items folder. After 90 days or if you delete the folder from the Deleted Items folder, the items will move to the Recover Deleted Items container. The Recover Deleted Items container is not aware of the folder structure and therefore you will not see the deleted folder listed but there will be lots of items deleted at the time you deleted the folder.
If an entire folder with items was deleted from the Deleted Items folder or deleted using ‘Shift+Delete’, you can only recover the items within the folder but not the folder. In such situations identify the emails you want to recover based on the Deleted On column in Recover Deleted Items.
It is possible that email messages or entire folders are deleted without ever using the Deleted Items folder. Some email client software may use their own nominated folder instead of Deleted Items (e.g. Thunderbird may use "Trash" or "Deleted"), also they may execute a hard delete (or "Shift+delete") to remove items (Outlook default action is a soft delete). Recover Deleted Items may not work as expected in these cases.
There is a subtle difference when searching using Outlook or OWA, OWA generally requires an asterisk after the search item (e.g. "40700*").
If you still cannot find the missing item after performing a full mailbox search or in the Recover Deleted Items folder, then Nexus Team may be able to assist you *only* if the data has been deleted within the previous 30 days. Please note that this is a chargeable service and the request must be submitted by your ITSS using the Data Recovery Service link (shown  above).
 

Restoring deleted items using Outlook 2010

When you use Outlook 2010 with Nexus, deleted messages are normally kept in the Deleted Items folder for 90 days (you can manually delete them before that, and you can configure Outlook to delete them each time you log off). After that, you can still recover the messages for another 30 days. To do that:

  1. Click on the Deleted Items folder
  2. On the [Folder] menu (top bar of the Outlook window), select [Recover Deleted Items] to see the items you can recover
  3. Click the message(s) you want to restore and then click the Recover Selected Items button.

    The message is restored to the folder from where it was deleted.

 

Service area: 

Written by IT Services. Latest revision 11 February 2016