HFS Windows daytime client scheduler

The HFS Team created a Windows daytime client schedule, referred to as "the scheduler" on this page, for scheduling backups during the day rather than, or as well as, a weekly one at night.  The scheduler runs on your machine rather than the HFS servers, so can be configured for times and days that suit you.

Setting up / modifying a daytime backup schedule

  1. Locate the scheduler's executable file ClientSchedule.exe, installed on most Windows platforms at C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\HFSUtils\support.

    If you do not find this file then please upgrade to our latest package for TSM/IBM Spectrum Protect.

  2. Double-click the executable file to launch the scheduler.

  3. Select a time to run the backups. The selection is limited to one time slot in the morning and/or one in the afternoon.

    Please note that the HFS only keeps two versions of each file, so backing up more often will expire the older version more quickly.

  4. Tick the days that you want the scheduled backup to run.

  5. You will need to add at least one folder in order to set up the schedule:

    • Select Add to choose the folders that are to be backed up.

    • Select an item and choose Remove to remove from the list.

  6. Click Save once you have finished adding all the folders that you want to back up.

  7. You might be reminded that too frequent backups could expire your older copies quickly.

  8. After being informed that you have set up the scheduler successfully, select Close.

Checking the status of the most recent backup

You can find a detailed report on the status of your last backup in C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\HFSUtils\support\logs\HFSDaytimeBackup.log.

You can also go to HFS Portal to see recent backup activity information of your machine.

Disabling the scheduler

Disabling the scheduler will stop the scheduled backup from running.  Your settings will be retained.

To disable the scheduler, click the Disable button located at the bottom left of the schedule setup window.  You can re-enable the scheduler by clicking the Enable button.

Deleting the scheduler settings

Deleting the scheduler settings will remove all the settings and changes that you have made in the scheduler.  To do so, click on Delete at the bottom left of the schedule setup panel.

You can still re-run the executable file at a later date to begin daytime scheduled backups again.

Get support


Local IT support provide your first line of on-the-spot help

FIND MY LOCAL IT TEAM

 

Common requests and fault reports can be logged using self-service

   USE IT SELF-SERVICE      

   LOG A SUPPORT CALL     

VIEW MY SUPPORT CALLS  

 

The central Service Desk is available 24x7 on +44 1865 6 12345

 

If you do not have an SSO account you can use this form to contact the Service Desk