Your home drive (H:)
Drive H: is called your "home drive" and is suitable for files that only you need to access. This should be only be for work purposes, not personal data.
Your home drive (by default) has the following folders, which appear as the special folders in Windows Explorer:
- My Pictures
- My Music
- My Videos
You should not use your H: drive for:
- Backing up the contents of your C drive
- Storing a copy of data that exists on group storage
- Business critical data (including research data) or data that your colleagues may need access to
- Personal photo albums
- Personal music library
- Personal video library
The standard quota for a home drive is 5GB. An email will be sent to you if your use exceeds 80% of the available space.
All files stored on H: will be permanently erased when your managed staff desktop account is closed. Your account will normally be closed within 3 months if requested by your line manager, or after 12 months of no login from an office network or VPN.
Your personal settings / user profile
Key personal settings are synchronised between your desktop and central servers. When you logon to a new desktop, these settings are copied down to provide your familiar wallpaper, desktop links, and key application settings. There is no quota limit on these settings.
Your personal settings and user profile will be permanently erased when your managed staff desktop account is closed. Your account will normally be closed within 3 months if requested by your line manager, or after 12 months of no login from an office network or VPN.
Group / shared drives (G:, O:, P:)
Shared drives are usually assigned to departments or groups and accessed via drive O: or G:. Some units also have access to an older shared space via drive P:.
Access to areas on shared drives is strictly controlled so not everyone has access to all data. Groups and departments make decisions about who has access to their data and what form of access is needed eg. read only. The file structure and access permissions are set by individual departments or groups and these will vary. Consult your department administrator for further advice on this.
Files that you own or have access to on shared drives will be left in place when your managed staff desktop account is closed.
Drive I: will list all of the department / group / shared drives that you have access to, even if these are not part of your main department. It can be useful if you are part of a cross-departmental function or project.
OneDrive for Business
OneDrive for Business (ODFB) is a cloud-based storage solution providing up to 5TB of space for each member of staff. Files can be accessed via the web, or synchronised to a desktop. Sharing with other Nexus365 is easy and secure, even if they are outside of your department or don't use a managed staff desktop.