OneDrive for Business FAQ

Expand All

No, the 5TB quota is the maximum amount of storage available and cannot be increased.

If you already use OneDrive and don’t want to move any data you can use two separate OneDrive accounts.  You will be prompted when logging in to select which you would like to use, Business or Personal.

If you want to move data from your personal OneDrive to your OneDrive for Business account, be aware that personal OneDrive accounts are not supported by IT Support Staff.  See Microsoft guidance on how to move files from OneDrive to OneDrive for Business.

The key difference between unauthorised cloud storage services and Nexus365's OneDrive is that Nexus365 has enterprise-level support, availability, troubleshooting and network capacity.  We can also prioritise issues in a way you won’t get on a free or single user unauthorised storage solution.

If you are considering other storage solutions, please check the University’s guidelines on cloud services and how to use them safely.

Data in Nexus365’s OneDrive is only recoverable by Microsoft if there is a major disaster, such as one of their data centres being destroyed.  Documents you save to OneDrive keep a history of editing activity meaning that you can easily return to a previous version of a file.  However, your OneDrive files are not backed-up to tape in the way that you may be used to, so users are strongly advised to keep local backups of important files, backed up to the University's HFS / Spectrum Backup system.  There are some protections against accidental file deletions, such as being able to roll your OneDrive back to a previous date (data is retained in this way for 30 days so ensure that you take action as quickly as possible to avoid permanent data loss - see Restore your OneDrive (microsoft.com)

The Nexus Team cannot intervene nor troubleshoot issues with the OneDrive client on PC or Mac, so please check the web version of OneDrive and use the methods detailed above if you believe you have lost data and need to revert your onedrive to a previous date. 

Deletion rules for OneDrive are the same as for your email account.  A deleted item will be held in the Deleted Items folder for 90 days, this is then followed by 30 days in the Recoverable Items folder.

If you want to restore deleted files, follow the Microsoft guidance to restore your OneDrive.

No.  A shared mailbox (or project mailbox) does not have any OneDrive allocation, because it does not belong to a single person.  It just has email and a calendar.

The account expires as soon as you leave the University.  Anyone who has been given shared access to files will be able to access them for a further two months or until their account has been officially deleted.

OneDrive for Business is administered by IT Services.

No, shared accounts are not entitled to a OneDrive.  

Get support


Local IT support provides your first line of on-the-spot help

FIND MY LOCAL IT TEAM

 

Common requests and fault reports can be logged using self-service

   USE IT SELF SERVICE      

   LOG A SUPPORT CALL     

VIEW MY SUPPORT CALLS  

 

The Central IT Service Desk is available 24x7 on +44 1865 6 12345

If you do not have access to your Single Sign-On, you can use this form to contact the Service Desk